About the OPSEU Pension Plan

posting date Revised: March 2022 print page Print this page Email link to page Email the link

The OPSEU Pension Plan (the Plan) is a defined benefit pension plan with over 100,000 members and retirees. The Plan was established in 1994 to provide pension benefits for employees of the Province of Ontario (the Province) in bargaining units represented by the Ontario Public Service Employees Union (OPSEU) and certain other bargaining units and employers. The Plan is administered by the OPSEU Pension Trust (OPTrust).

The Plan has over 46,000 active members and approximately 37,000 current and deferred retirees across Ontario. The Plan’s membership comprises members represented by OPSEU, certain designated bargaining units, and other designated employees, employed by the following organizations:

  • The Province of Ontario (civil servants and crown employees)
  • Alcohol and Gaming Commission of Ontario
  • Centre for Addiction and Mental Health
  • Centre Jules-Léger
  • Legislative Assembly of Ontario
  • Liquor Control Board of Ontario
  • Niagara Parks Commission
  • North Bay Regional Health Centre (Northeast Mental Health Centre)
  • Ontario Agency for Health Protection and Promotion
  • Ontario Cannabis Retail Corporation
  • Ontario Pension Board
  • Ontario Public Service Employees Union (seconded or acting employees)
  • Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences
  • Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan Board
  • OPSEU Pension Plan Trust Fund (includes non-bargaining unit employees)
  • Providence Care Centre
  • Skilled Trades Ontario (formerly Ontario College of Trades)
  • St. Joseph’s Care Group – Lakehead Psychiatric Hospital
  • Waypoint Centre for Mental Health Care
  • Workplace Safety and Insurance Appeals Tribunal

The Plan is registered under the Pension Benefits Act (Ontario) and the Income Tax Act (Canada) and is a Registered Pension Plan as defined in the Income Tax Act.