Secure messaging should be used when confidential information is included in a message or file attachment. Confidential information can include but is not limited to:
- members’ personal information such as Social Insurance Number (SIN), date of birth, employment information, salary information
- grievance award information
- personal banking information
- confidential financial reports
- records of employment •
- any OPTrust electronic forms.
The Secure Messages page displays all your incoming and outgoing secure messages for the organization(s) with which you are associated.
- Each message has a unique reference number assigned to the message thread.
- Messages you have not viewed are indicated by a red envelope icon to the left of the message.
- The messages are sorted by date in descending order. All replies to a message will have the same reference number as the original message (replies are indicated with a return arrow icon).
Note: Messages cannot be deleted and will remain in the OPTrust Secure Portal. However, they can be archived (and referenced within the archived messages). Messages that you send and any OPTrust response can be viewed by other users who are associated with the same organization.