OPTrust announces new Chief Investment Officer

posting date Posted: August 10, 2015

OPTrust is pleased to announce the appointment of James Davis to the role of Chief Investment Officer, effective September 8, 2015. In this role, Mr. Davis will lead OPTrust’s global investment strategy and operations.

Mr. Davis has 28 years of solid leadership, strategy development, investment, and financial services expertise. Most recently, he held the role of Vice President, Strategy & Asset Mix and Chief Economist at Ontario Teachers’ Pension Plan (Teachers’) in Toronto, where he led a team providing investment strategy, economic analysis, emerging market insight and responsible investing expertise to the pension fund. Before joining Teachers’, Mr. Davis was President of FuturesTrend Capital Corporation in Prince Edward Island and Vice President & Head, Global Fixed Income & Currencies at RBC Global Investment Management in Toronto. He is a CFA® charterholder and has an MBA, Finance from Dalhousie University.

"James Davis is an accomplished strategic leader with an excellent track record,” said Hugh O’Reilly, President and CEO, OPTrust. “His skills will be a significant asset to OPTrust as we work to pay pensions today and preserve pensions for tomorrow for our over 86,000 members and retirees."

With investment professionals based in Toronto, London and Sydney, OPTrust has built a diversified portfolio spanning the globe with public market, private market and real estate assets in North America, Europe, Developed Asia and emerging markets.


About OPTrust
With assets of $17.5 billion, the OPSEU Pension Trust (OPTrust) invests and manages one of Canada’s largest pension funds and administers the OPSEU Pension Plan, a defined benefit plan with over 86,000 members and retirees. OPTrust was established to give plan members and the Government of Ontario an equal voice in the administration of the Plan and the investment of its assets, through joint trusteeship. OPTrust is governed by a 10-member Board of Trustees, five of whom are appointed by OPSEU and five by the Government of Ontario.